Congrats Megan Brazle for the 2021 Checkpoint Charlie Foundation Award

This November, Megan Brazle, Springdale High German Teacher, will be honored with the 2021 Checkpoint Charlie Foundation Award at the national conference of the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG).

The Checkpoint Charlie Foundation Award was established in 1999 by the Checkpoint Charlie Foundation in Berlin, Germany and the AATG. It is given each year to one K-12 and one post-secondary faculty member, in recognition of exceptional teaching and extraordinary achievement in outreach and fostering international cooperation.

Numerous administrators, colleagues, and students contributed to the nomination dossier, which highlighted Mrs. Brazle’s work in mentoring, incorporating the latest technology into her teaching, and organizing extracurricular learning opportunities such as field trips to local university language programs. Mrs. Erin Kemp, World Languages Department Chair at Springdale High School, noted: “Mrs. Brazle has built a legacy that fosters intercultural connections and stellar academic achievement. The SHS World Languages Department is honored to work alongside her." Mrs. Brazle said: “Winning this award is so affirming. Teaching can feel very lonely at times because we can be isolated in our own world with little feedback from other adults about our teaching performance. It feels amazing to be recognized for providing my students with opportunities to see beyond their own culture and to develop respect and appreciation for the differences that make us all unique and interesting! Thanks to my colleagues, students and friends for their help!”

Mrs. Brazle has been a faculty member at Springdale High since 2011, where she is also the Program Coordinator for the International Baccalaureate program. She has served as the Secretary of the Arkansas Chapter of the AATG since 2011 as well. She is an alumna of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, where she majored in International Relations, German, and European Studies as a Bodenhammer Fellow.

Click here to learn more about the Checkpoint Charlie Foundation Teacher Award